Idol of the heart

I didn’t watch much of the winter Olympics on TV recently, but there was one story on Yahoo Sports that grabbed my attention.

Heidi Kloser, 21, is one of the top skiers in the world. She’s at her first Olympics, but for her, they’re already over before they even began. Kloser was skiing a practice run on the moguls when she wreckedand tore both ACL and MCL and fractured her femur, and she’s out for the rest of the competition.

What got me though is what was shared further on in the story when it quoted what her Dad wrote on Facebook: When she was in the ambulance she asked her Mom and I if she was still an Olympian…we said of course she is!

The moment she had trained for had arrived and when an injury took her down, she instantly questioned who she was. I think of my walk with Christ and how I have at times found myself out of commission, sometimes from my own bad choices or just from life getting the best of me. And just like Heidi the Olympian, I have questioned who I am.

Am I still a daughter of the King? 

Like Heidi’s Dad, my Heavenly Father said to me…

Of course you are! 

Last week, my girlfriend Jennifer Lee asked me to read her first book, Love Idol releasing April 1st. I couldn’t type my “yes!” back to her fast enough. But then reality hit. See, Jennifer’s book “will help you dismantle what’s separating you from true connection with God and experience the astonishing freedom of a life lived in authentic love.”

In the introduction she explains what a Love Idol is:

I can almost hear your question. The…what idol? Love Idol? How can love be an idol? Love was God’s idea. We were created in God’s image, and God is love! Paul wrote to the Corinthians: “These three remain: faith, hope and love. And the greatest of these is love.” Yet we take God’s “greatest” and contort it into an idol. We twist our desire for approval into a false god. Instead of resting in the love and approval of an unseen God, we chase after the temporary pleasures of human validation. Whatever rules our hearts become our lord.

I hate admitting this, but I have a Love Idol. God wants me to let go if it, but I don’t want to. My flesh is wrestling and God isn’t budging. He wants all of me. Every time I begin to loosen my grip I hear lies whispered straight from the pit of hell, “If you let this go, then what? This is what you know.” So I hold on and the result of holding on to this idol is the vicious cycle of questioning who I am in Christ.

Today I received a package from Jennifer that included a beautiful necklace made by our girlfriend,  Kashoan over at Krafty Kash. 

image

The word on the necklace is preapproved. Jennifer’s hope in her heart is that those who read her book will smash their Love Idols while claiming their preapproved status in Christ.

I’m ready to smash my Love Idol. Ready to change the course of my legacy. I just have to. I love God too much not to. And honestly, a relationship with a Love Idol leaves you exhausted and empty.

It’s time to consistently believe that I am a preapproved daughter of the King.

Blessings,

Lelia

To begin smashing your own Love Idols, join us on the Facebook page, The Love Idol Movement.

Visit Jennifer at http://jenniferdukeslee.com

Like Kashoan’s Facebook page Krafty Kash and get your own necklace.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Idol of the heart

  1. Kathy Schwanke says:

    How quickly we question His love… “Am I still His?” And I’m so addicted to His grace and mercy for it. The power of His cleansing blood keeping us spotless until that Day! Halleluiah! 🙂

  2. ajwall says:

    You have such a beautiful way with words!! Time to surrender (my word for the year) EVERYTHING I know and hold onto to the One who holds everything in His hands. Thanks for sharing this message. Love ya girl!! ❤

  3. rhondaq says:

    Beautiful Lelia. “Ready to change the course of my legacy.” I’m with you. I am.

  4. Caryn Christensen says:

    Absolutely right on! Thank you for sharing Leila ❤

  5. Love the Olympian story.. How true that we set up all kinds of barriers and obstacles for us to chase, just so we can be approved by God. As Jennifer reminds us — and God too — that’s just not necessary

  6. hisfirefly says:

    Yes! Prayers floating your way as you surrender to surrender.

  7. dukeslee says:

    Tweeted. Pinned. Facebooked. Google-+’d it. I couldn’t love this any more. Thank you for being my friend, my sister … xoxo

Leave a Reply

